Facts you may not know about the oldest golf tournament (Part 2)

In 2014, The R&A announced that Royal Portrush will return in October 2015 and Portrush will become The Open 2019 venue.

Champions: Willie Park Sr (1860), Tom Morri Sr (1861), Andrew Strath (1865), Tom Kidd (1873), Bob Ferguson (1882), John Ball (1890), David Brown (1886)…

Important milestones at The Open Championship

On October 17th, 1860 the first match took place at Prestwick Golf Club – Scotland with 8 golfers playing in 3 rounds around 12 holes in a single day.

In 1861, the season attracted 8 amateur golfers and 10 professional golfers.

In 1971 due to no award, the tournament was canceled.

In 1892 the tournament increased from 36 holes to 72 holes, that is, 4 rounds of 18 holes.

In 1894, the tournament took place for the first time outside Scotland, with an increasing number of contestants, so the organizers applied a golfer-cutting format after two rounds.

In 1920, the right to organize The Open Championship belonged to The Royal & Ancientt Golf Culb.

From 1890-1930, The Open was dominated by professional athletes, with only 6 amateur golfers taking the throne during this period.

In 1946, The Open welcomes the first American champion after the second world war.

In 1947 the champion of this tournament was Fred Daly of Northern Ireland.

In 1948 – 1958 The Open was dominated by the Commonwealth golfers, golfers from Australia and South Africa won the championship 8 times.

In 1953, The Open competed at the American Carnoustie golfer to win the championship that year.

In 1959, the South African golfer won the championship.

In 1960, the “Big Three” era in the professional golf village began.

In 1966, 1970 and 1978, Golfer Nicklaus came second seven times and 16 times ranked top 5 at The Open.

Golfer John Daly won the championship in 1995.

2000-2005, Tiger Woods who won 3 championships.

In 2006, Golfer Hoylake won the Open title.

In 2013, golfer Phil Mickelson won the first Open Championship at Muirfield.

In 2015, the match took place at the Old Course at St Andrews golfer Zach Johnson won by payoff.

The 2018 Open Championship is the 147th tournament held at Carnoustie Golf Links in Angus, Scotland. This is the 8th Open Champiomship tournament at Carnousetie.

In the first time since 1951, The Open took place at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

Nowadays, The Open Championship is considered to be among the top 6 tournaments in the world.