Facts you may not know about the oldest golf tournament (Part 1)

The Open Championship is also known as The Open and British Open. It is the oldest of the four major golfer major tournaments, held for the first time in the UK and the only major tournament outside of the United States.

The tournament took place firstly on October 17, 1860, at the Pretwick Golf Club with 8 professional golfers playing 3 rounds around the 12-hole golf course in a single day.

Features of The Open Championship

Tournaments are held at the golf courses adjacent to the coast (Link course) and these courses often bring a lot of difficulties and challenges for golfers due to extreme weather conditions.

High performing countries at The Open can be named as the United States with 44 championships; It was followed by Scottland with 41 times and ranked third in England with 22 times.

Trophies and medals in The Open history

In 1860 – 1870 Challenge Belt was awarded to the champion.

In 1870, golfer Young Tom Morris was awarded the perpetual belt for a three-year championship.

In 1872 Young Tom Morris was the first champion to have his name engraved on the trophy.

From the tournament in 1872 the champion was awarded a gold medal before Claret Jug was born.

In 1949 the doctor’s medal was awarded to an amateur golfer

In 1872 bronze medals were awarded to all career golfer who participated in the final round.

Competition format

The Open is a 72-hole stroke play golf tournament that takes place in 4 days from: Thursday to Sunday (From 1979 the tournament takes place on the 6th and 3rd of July). In the rounds after hole 36, there are only 70 golfers leading the record.

If after 72 holes there is no identification of the champion the golfers will enter the 4-hole playoff series to calculate the total score if they still tie golfers into the series of live matches until they find the champion.

Golf course

From 1860 to 1870, the tournament was held at Prestwick Golf Club in Soctland. The Open was held in Scotland, northwestern England and southeast England and the same pitch in Northern Ireland.