Facts you may not know about the oldest golf tournament (Part 2)

In 2014, The R&A announced that Royal Portrush will return in October 2015 and Portrush will become The Open 2019 venue.

Champions: Willie Park Sr (1860), Tom Morri Sr (1861), Andrew Strath (1865), Tom Kidd (1873), Bob Ferguson (1882), John Ball (1890), David Brown (1886)…

Important milestones at The Open Championship

On October 17th, 1860 the first match took place at Prestwick Golf Club – Scotland with 8 golfers playing in 3 rounds around 12 holes in a single day.

In 1861, the season attracted 8 amateur golfers and 10 professional golfers.

In 1971 due to no award, the tournament was canceled.

In 1892 the tournament increased from 36 holes to 72 holes, that is, 4 rounds of 18 holes.

In 1894, the tournament took place for the first time outside Scotland, with an increasing number of contestants, so the organizers applied a golfer-cutting format after two rounds.

In 1920, the right to organize The Open Championship belonged to The Royal & Ancientt Golf Culb.

From 1890-1930, The Open was dominated by professional athletes, with only 6 amateur golfers taking the throne during this period.

In 1946, The Open welcomes the first American champion after the second world war.

In 1947 the champion of this tournament was Fred Daly of Northern Ireland.

In 1948 – 1958 The Open was dominated by the Commonwealth golfers, golfers from Australia and South Africa won the championship 8 times.

In 1953, The Open competed at the American Carnoustie golfer to win the championship that year.

In 1959, the South African golfer won the championship.

In 1960, the “Big Three” era in the professional golf village began.

In 1966, 1970 and 1978, Golfer Nicklaus came second seven times and 16 times ranked top 5 at The Open.

Golfer John Daly won the championship in 1995.

2000-2005, Tiger Woods who won 3 championships.

In 2006, Golfer Hoylake won the Open title.

In 2013, golfer Phil Mickelson won the first Open Championship at Muirfield.

In 2015, the match took place at the Old Course at St Andrews golfer Zach Johnson won by payoff.

The 2018 Open Championship is the 147th tournament held at Carnoustie Golf Links in Angus, Scotland. This is the 8th Open Champiomship tournament at Carnousetie.

In the first time since 1951, The Open took place at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

Nowadays, The Open Championship is considered to be among the top 6 tournaments in the world.


Facts you may not know about the oldest golf tournament (Part 1)

The Open Championship is also known as The Open and British Open. It is the oldest of the four major golfer major tournaments, held for the first time in the UK and the only major tournament outside of the United States.

The tournament took place firstly on October 17, 1860, at the Pretwick Golf Club with 8 professional golfers playing 3 rounds around the 12-hole golf course in a single day.

Features of The Open Championship

Tournaments are held at the golf courses adjacent to the coast (Link course) and these courses often bring a lot of difficulties and challenges for golfers due to extreme weather conditions.

High performing countries at The Open can be named as the United States with 44 championships; It was followed by Scottland with 41 times and ranked third in England with 22 times.

Trophies and medals in The Open history

In 1860 – 1870 Challenge Belt was awarded to the champion.

In 1870, golfer Young Tom Morris was awarded the perpetual belt for a three-year championship.

In 1872 Young Tom Morris was the first champion to have his name engraved on the trophy.

From the tournament in 1872 the champion was awarded a gold medal before Claret Jug was born.

In 1949 the doctor’s medal was awarded to an amateur golfer

In 1872 bronze medals were awarded to all career golfer who participated in the final round.

Competition format

The Open is a 72-hole stroke play golf tournament that takes place in 4 days from: Thursday to Sunday (From 1979 the tournament takes place on the 6th and 3rd of July). In the rounds after hole 36, there are only 70 golfers leading the record.

If after 72 holes there is no identification of the champion the golfers will enter the 4-hole playoff series to calculate the total score if they still tie golfers into the series of live matches until they find the champion.

Golf course

From 1860 to 1870, the tournament was held at Prestwick Golf Club in Soctland. The Open was held in Scotland, northwestern England and southeast England and the same pitch in Northern Ireland.